Previous Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 27

S C Jones

USA
448 Posts

Posted - 08/15/2011 :  21:55:14  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Roger,
You are the one who let me know about my cousin, David Van Alstine's having died.
He and my brother were about the same age and buddies in their elementary years in Hammond.

I remember the Serenade--my summer working at Kelly's was 1957. The lot surrounding the building now looks a lot smaller than it did in 1957 when I had to sweep it around 1:30 in the morning before I could go home.

What job did you do at the Serenade?

quote:
Originally posted by Roger D

Hey SC, I worked at the Serenade Drive-in, just next door to Kelly's in '60&'61. Great memories!!

Go to Top of Page

Roger D

237 Posts

Posted - 08/16/2011 :  08:45:18  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I was a cook there and I swept the lot some. If the car hops didn't want to sweep their area they had to pay me .50 to do it. That was big money when you were only makng .50 an hour. If there were three car hops working you could make $1.50 in about 45 minutes.
Go to Top of Page

S C Jones

USA
448 Posts

Posted - 08/16/2011 :  09:24:07  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Those were lucky carhops. Since Nick, his wife, or his brother-in-law were the cooks, there was no asking for a bye or a buy—they would be cleaning up the kitchen, in fact. If I didn't have a ride home, one of them would give me a ride, since it was on their way home.

I would often take an Italian Beef Sandwich (Nick had the spice thing down and added a green pepper and the roll would be soggy by the time you bit into it--but no tomato sauce like Candes had.) home and eat it that time of the morning before I went to sleep---probably why I can't eat anything after 5:00pm now if I want to sleep at all. (Since Nick was Greek, the Beef Sandwich might better be described as Mediterranean as far as the spices it was cooked in.)
quote: