Off Topic Discussions
 W.C. Fields Inquiry for Newbie Russ
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

diskojoe

161 Posts

Posted - 01/07/2009 :  10:13:55  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Russ, according to the IMBD, it says that you worked on a documentary on W.C. Fields. I'm wondering if you have ever seen a film of his called "Million Dollar Legs", which has him play a leader of a small nation called Klopstockia that enters a team in the 1932 LA Olympics. I remember watching it in college in the early '80s on the late, late show until I got too tired to watch it, so I never saw the ending.

Russ Firestone

USA
8 Posts

Posted - 01/07/2009 :  17:18:55  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hey Diskojoe,

Almost missed your question -- Godfrey Daniels this pesky, intuitive technology! I'm new to this whole posting/blogging/twittering world (and that's putting it politely), but I guess I'm gonna have to learn how to follow these threads.

The answer is: but of course! "Million Dollar Legs" -- along with every other one-reeler, two-reeler, and feature Fields ever did -- had to be screened & researched for that A&E Biography. (By the way, I've been meaning to get my IMDB profile updated; it's woefully incomplete. Thanks for the reminder.) Anyway, "Legs" is PD -- in the Public Domain -- so any decent video/DVD store should have it, possibly as part of a Fields collection; it also still turns up on TV from time to time, so don't expect me to spoil the ending for you, or anyone else who might be reading this.

A little behind-the-scenes tidbit on making the A&E show: one of our interviewees was Harry Anderson, a huge WC fan. Harry's screen persona always reminded me a bit of Shep. Happy to report he's a heck of a nice guy in real life, too.

Well... "Good luck, and write when you get work!"

Russ
Go to Top of Page

diskojoe

161 Posts

Posted - 01/08/2009 :  08:47:40  Show Profile  Reply with Quote