Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 5

wvcogs

USA
564 Posts

Posted - 12/17/2010 :  10:08:58  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Tom J

Where was the DQ? On Kennedy? Which side of the street? Is that house in the background of the DQ picture the one you lived in for a while, Chris?

Tom

Tom, DQ was located NW corner of Kennedy and 167th.
Is it still there, anyone?

Ken
Go to Top of Page

S C Jones

USA
448 Posts

Posted - 12/17/2010 :  15:27:47  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Yep, The Dairy Queen is still on the corner of 167th and Kennedy according to the street view on Google.

However, what I remember about Del's Dairy Queen is that it was closed from about September until.... Del may have been a snowbird. Anyway, the pic from the
yearbook may mean it was open during the winter after my time (I graduated Morton in 1958.)

Go to Top of Page

Bill Bucko

USA
359 Posts

Posted - 12/18/2010 :  06:49:15  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I too recall the Dairy Queen usually being closed, winters.

The photo caption says 'M.Olsen, Mr. "R" and Jerry Farster'.

May Virden, English Dept.:
"Is a member of the Civic Little Theater."

Here's an embarrassing one:

James E. McNabney, English, Speech Depts.:
"Was a cheerleader at Hammond High."

Bill

Warren G. Harding Class of '63
Go to Top of Page

seejay2

USA
676 Posts

Posted - 12/18/2010 :  08:01:58  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:

I'm lovin' this discussion, even though I am not a Hessville-ite. You guys are talking about the same times when I was in high school at Hammond High, so I can relate to a lot of the stuff you are saying.

Where was the DQ? On Kennedy? Which side of the street?
Hey Tom. The DQ was on the NW corner of Kennedy & 167th. Right across the street (on Kennedy)was Dog & Suds, later to become Loomis Cycle Sales. He sold those Kawasaki rice rockets.

Is that house in the background of the DQ picture the one you lived in for a while, Chris?